AFMA Flood Zone Newsletter
Inside This Issue January 2007
Meet the AFMA Board for 2007
Membership Renewal Continues!
Part III - Committee Chairs
Mike Borengasser
Mike Borengasser, CFM
Email Mike
Mike is the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) coordinator for the state of Arkansas. He has been employed with the Arkansas Department of Natural Resources (formerly the Arkansas Soil & Water Conservation Commission) since 1981. Prior to becoming NFIP coordinator in 2004, Mike served as the NFIP coordinator from 1982 to 1990 and as a hydrologist for the state of Arkansas dam safety program from 1990 to 2000. Mike has been a certified floodplain manager since 2000 and was among the first group to be certified in Arkansas. He is the manager for the AFMA Certified Floodplain Manager (CFM) program and is also responsible for administering the exams and maintaining the certification records. Mike also serves on the Certified Board of Regents (CBOR), which is the certification board for the National Association of State Floodplain Managers (ASFPM). He has been involved with AFMA since its initial formation in 1996 and has served the organization through the years in a variety of capacities including state representative, regional representative, and treasurer.
Kimberly Bogart
Kimberly Bogart, CFM
Email Kim
Kimberly is a GIS user support analyst with the Arkansas Geographic Information Office (AGIO), which is the state agency dedicated to assisting communities develop, use and maintain their own GIS data such as land ownership, water line routes and drainage channels. She is currently working in tandem with State NFIP Coordinator Mike Borengasser to coordinate Arkansas’ involvement in FEMA’s map modernization program. A member of AFMA since 2004 and ASFPM since 2006, Kim will be working this year to reorganize the AFMA awards program by reclassifying entry categories based on population and creating an online nomination process.
Jim Narey
Jim Narey, CFM
Email Jim

LouWauna Obert
LouWauna Obert
Email LouWauna
Co-chaired by Jim Narey, CFM and LouWauna Obert, members of this committee maintain relationships with companies and organizations that have an interest in floodplain management activities. Goals of the committee include solicitation of sponsorships for AFMA events, development of promotional materials, and the sale of advertising on the AFMA web site.

Jim Narey, CFM Jim is the current AFMA vice-chairman and his biography was published in the November 2006 issue of Flood Zone. You can read it here.

LouWauna Obert is a store realty manager for Wal-Mart Stores, Inc. and has been with the company for six years. Much of her time has been spent resolving post-construction warranty issues at Wal-Mart distribution centers across the country, many of which have been drainage related, but has also included general hazard mitigation and environmental quality issues. LouWauna has been certified as a storm water professional through the Wal-Mart Storm Water Pollution Prevention Plan (SWPPP) program.

Terrance Oliver
Terrance Oliver
Email Terrance
Terrance serves as code enforcement officer for the cities of Helena-West Helena and Elaine. He also serves as the brownfield coordinator for Helena-West Helena. An AFMA member since 2005, Terrance has also proudly served our country for the last 13 years as a member of the Arkansas Army National Guard 39th Infantry Brigade. He is an Iraq War veteran and has earned several certifications through the military including those for hazardous materials and safety.
Conrad Battreal
Conrad Battreal, PE, CFM
Email Conrad
Conrad is the current AFMA chairman and his biography was published in the November 2006 issue of Flood Zone. You can read it here. As chairman of the technical committee, Conrad monitors changes in the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) and guidelines set forth by the Association of State Floodplain Managers (ASFPM). The primary goal of this committee is to keep the AFMA membership up-to-date on new and modified technical issues.
Danny Straessle
Danny Straessle
Email Danny
Danny is the Arkansas marketing manager for Carter & Burgess, a multi-discipline national engineering firm with a specialization in floodplain management. Involved with AFMA for slightly more than four years, Danny has been responsible for editing and publishing Flood Zone, the official AFMA newsletter. He is currently leading development efforts for the new AFMA web site that will soon launch.
Conrad Battreal
Our introduction of the 2007 AFMA board members concludes this month with a look at our committee chairs. If you missed our last issue of Flood Zone, we introduced the regional representatives in December. You can read it here.
Regarding the committee chairs, these professionals were appointed by the board of directors at the annual fall conference in September 2006. They will direct various activities associated with the general nature of each committee and are actively seeking volunteers to participate.
If you have completed your AFMA membership renewal via our new online process, you may have noticed the invitation we presented that asked you to consider participating on a committee. I am happy to report we have had a number of members express an interest in our various committee activities.
Volunteers among the AFMA membership help the organization achieve many goals by participating on a committee. We realize that not everyone is able to devote the necessary time and resources that some of these committees require. If you simply don’t have the time, don’t worry about it. We understand!
Our annual membership renewal campaign continues as many of you have found the time to go online and complete the process in a few simple clicks. If you haven’t renewed your membership, there’s still time to get it done by clicking here. All memberships expired on December 31, 2006 and we certainly don’t want anyone to miss out on all that AFMA has to offer in 2007!
I am pleased to report that redesign of the official AFMA website is going well; however, it has become necessary to push back the launch date into February. This illustrates the volunteer nature of our organization as members working on a new design must provide a healthy balance between work and supporting AFMA. But let me assure that you won’t be disappointed with our new home on the Internet.
Among the exciting features on the new web site is a calendar of events that will provide information and links regarding industry-related gatherings, both local and national. As a prelude to the calendar’s availability, allow me to make a “save the date” announcement that our annual spring workshop is scheduled for April 26 & 27 at the Jacksonville Community Center.
As always, we hope you are enjoying the new Flood Zone and appreciate your patience while we continue to develop our new web site. Your comments and suggestions are welcome at any time. We would love to hear from you!
Conrad Battreal, PE, CFM
Email Conrad

Membership Renewal Continues!
The annual membership renewal campaign is in full swing! Your current AFMA membership expired on December 31, 2006.

Many AFMA members have already found out just how easy it really is to renew. And you can too!

Click here to go to the AFMA online renewal page. Confirm your information is accurate, print your invoice, and mail it in with your dues. It’s that simple!

As an AFMA member, you will be asked to create a free user account which we will use to expedite your annual renewal process as well as your registration for AFMA conferences and technical sessions.

Don’t miss out, 2007 promises to be an exciting year!
© 2007 Arkansas Floodplain Management Association. All Rights Reserved.